rule-breaking bunting

13 Jun

I am incredibly excited. Not only am I off to the heavenly Cornwall tomorrow for a cheeky break with the boy-o, I’m also celebrating my birthday this week and getting wasted (sorry, having a party) on Saturday to bring in the new year of my life. I’m just throwing a small do at my house centring around a nice meal (food and drink will ALWAYS take centre stage in my abode). But I still want to make some home-made decorations, and today I’ve had a go at making a little bunting…

The best thing about this bunting is that I’ve finally found a use for these old bedsheets that I took from my mum’s airing cupboard. I love the pattern on them but they just haven’t worked well for patchwork quilts – the fabric crinkles instantly which makes cutting neat squares far too time-consuming.

Now, thanks to the tip-off from baby bandito, I did have access to a wonderfully detailed, beautifully put together tutorial on how to make bunting. It really is a gem of a tutorial. Do take a look if you’re interested.

But me being me (the word ‘lazy’ doesn’t begin to capture it), I just decided to take a quick glance over the tutorial, and then try my luck with some good old-fashioned slapdashedness. The outcome is pretty cool I think – it certainly lifts my living room (but the alcohol will also surely help with this!). Et voila, the three rules that I proudly trampled over:

– No need for a triangle template, I just used my eyes and corrected for any differences at the sewing machine

– I didn’t bother using bias binding, just hemmed on both sides the stretch of fabric that holds the triangles together

– A ruler, an iron, coordinating thread? Not for me thanks – I’ll just tell my guests that any mistakes (I prefer ‘unique touches’) were wholly intended. But honestly, I don’t understand our (the sewing community) constant demand for colour-matching fabric and thread. I love it when thread is a different colour and stands out – particularly if it’s something fun like bunting. Is this just me??

4 Responses to “rule-breaking bunting”

  1. Suzanne June 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    It looks great! Me, I like a bit of contrasting thread…

    • needlepullingthread June 14, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Good good – happy to see it’s not just me. I loved the tutorial though (even though I’m too impatient to follow anything… as a psychology student, I may need to diagnose myself with some sort of attention deficit condition) so thanks for pointing me in that direction!

  2. magicanddrudgery June 17, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I like your bunting and the mismatching thread is a necessity here due to the distance to the thread shop – so I just get on with liking it.

    • needlepullingthread June 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      Glad you like my bunting. I was stunned to find bunting while I was on holiday that would’ve cost me a whopping 20 pounds!

Leave a Reply

