Here’s my handle and here’s my spout…

21 Jun

Ok, so after what feels like a super-duper long stint without being too creative, I’ve finally got it together and made a little something. A cushion… with an appliqued teapot. And before you go getting ideas that this is maybe a bit random, I’ll suggest that it makes absolute sense to have a teapot on a cushion. I drink a lot of tea, and I tend to do it all sitting down (lazy, moi?), resting against a cushion. Cushions and tea – they’re made to go together. The next step is to fashion a teapot with a picture of a cushion on it… hmmm… Now, before I get too distracted by this idea, I suppose I better share a picture of the finished product…

As you can probably see, I machine embroidered the outline of the teapot onto the cushion, then applied different types of fabric onto the design. I like the effect – it’s sweet – but next time, I might try things a little differently. For example, it might work better to cut the patterned fabric in the shape of the teapot, and then applique this onto the cushion straight, then add different fabrics on top of this… I’m not entirely sure, what do you all think? Would love to hear your opinions. Also, can you see that it’s a teapot straightaway? Is that obvious? I feel like I might see that it’s a teapot only because I know I intended it to be one…

I stuffed the cushion with fabric scraps. Along with applique (which you only need small pieces of fabric for), this is a fantastic way to get the most out of fabrics, and to avoid ever EVER throwing anything away rather than making use of it. When it comes to sewing, I believe there’s no excuse for failing to recycle… wouldn’t you agree?

6 Responses to “Here’s my handle and here’s my spout…”

  1. Amal June 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    You can definitely see the teapot 🙂

  2. Alessa June 23, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Lovely teapot! I’m a bit crazy about tea, I totally like herbal, spice and black tea blends and I have great difficulties walking by new sorts of tea… Correspondingly, I also like teapots and tea cups and mugs a lot – though I try not to get overly crazy with buying those… *g*
    I like the way you did the applique. And yes, it’s obvious it’s a teapot. 🙂

    • needlepullingthread June 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      I love tea too. I know what you mean about hoarding tea crockery – they’re so easy to find in charity shops and so so pretty and exciting (I love tea and coffee sets from the 60s and 70s – very fun and bright). I’m happy you like my teapot cushion. I’ve been reading your blog loads lately.

      • Alessa June 24, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

        Hehe thanks, I enjoy yours, too. 🙂 I’m actually more hoarding tea than crockery, but that’s probably due to all my cupboards and shelves being filled to the brim. I wish I had more space… About the tutorial, you’re going to get an email a bit later… 🙂 Have a good weekend!

      • needlepullingthread June 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

        You too Alessa – looking forward to the tutorial. It feels like ages since I made anything that I could wear!

Leave a Reply

