the street where you live

24 Jun

There’s been a flurry of activity here – which is something I don’t often get to say! Another appliqued cushion cover.

It’s inspired by a ‘moving in’ card I received from my bro and his wife at the beginning of the year. It was a street of colourful and patterened houses that made me desperately want to own a house that I could wallpaper on the outside (there must be such a thing as external wallpaper… surely?). For the time being, I’ll have to make do with imagining myself into one of these fabric houses. It would be the middle one for me I think.

Anyhoo, I’m really enjoying making these cushions, and I’m looking everywhere for easy-to-applique (but still meaningful) designs that I can use. I’d like to end up with ten in total – the teapot, umbrella and houses mean I’m currently at three – so please let me know if you have any ideas for other designs! I would be most grateful fellow crafters.

4 Responses to “the street where you live”

  1. Irina June 24, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I really like your cushions, all of them! I do have a thing about fabric houses and have made a drawing waiting to be recreated into fabric.
    Check out the designs of Poppy Treffry – she seems to be the queen on freestyle embroidery and has some beautiful designs. I also follow a blog which is called Dots and Sports, and although not related to sewing has some lovely card designs that could be made from fabric. Also how about a nice big cupcake?

    • needlepullingthread June 25, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Irina. Strange that you mentioned Poppy Treffry – I just discovered her on my recent trip to Cornwall and really liked her things. You’re right about her being the queen of freestyle embroidery. Thanks for the tip-off about Dots and Sports, I’ll check that out now. Also, really like your blog – will add to my Blogroll!

  2. Suzanne June 25, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Animal silhouettes! Bird would probably be the easiest. Followed by cat. Followed by dog. Perhaps horse? No – giraffe!

    • needlepullingthread June 25, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      You are sooo right! I love the idea of the giraffe. Had plans for a bird one with an alarm clock (‘the early bird catches the worm’). I love the idea of non-domestic animals… giraffe, elephant, hippopotamus?? Oooo, I feel excited now… too bad I’m in London (i.e. without sewing machine) and it’s late on a Saturday night (very rock and roll!). These ideas will have to wait until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

