Meet Sashimi

5 Jul

I’ve been dreaming of her for years, and now she’s finally here in my life! I’m so excited. Please meet Sashimi Boss… Sasha for short.

 

 

I found her after dilly-dallying with the boyo around Angel in London. We’d had some wonderful sushi at a little restaurant on Upper Street (it’s shocking to admit it but this was basically my first sushi experience… yummy but a bit scary at the same time) and then took a little walk on some of the back streets where all the vintage shops and markets live. I’d seen this shop before but every time I’d gone by it had been closed… This time, fantastique!, it was open and there was Sashimi standing outside of the shop and waiting to be bought for a mere £39. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on her – just think of the hours I can spend pretending to be on Project Runway!

Getting her out of the shop required a battle with the eccentric (cough… plain evil) shopkeeper who only really wanted to sell to retailers and not to poor members of the public such as moi, but I came out victorious and Sasha’s the prize. I can’t wait to design something a little bit crazy on her – something that would never come in pattern form.

Do you have a dress mannequin? If so, what’s their name?

4 Responses to “Meet Sashimi”

  1. Suzanne July 6, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    £39?!?! I am jealous. Was that the only one? Do they have more? I too, have been having fancy dress form dreams.

    • needlepullingthread July 6, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

      Amazing right?! They have thousands – that’s why they prefer trade customers. You need to come out of Angel station, walk down upper street, and turn off on the right so that you’re in the back lanes, parallel to upper street where a lot of the vintage shops are. It’s there (I’m sorry, I can’t remember a name and my directions are awful!) and they’re open on Saturday and Sunday. You should definitely get yourself one.

  2. bluebellandrosieate July 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    So envious! Can’t believe it was so cheap either! I want to start making some clothes for myself but haven’t quite got round to it yet.

    Off to check out the rest of your blog now!

    • needlepullingthread July 6, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by – I really love your blog. I’m looking forward to showing off some of the disasters I make using Sashimi very soon!

Leave a Reply

