do punctuation and cushions mix?

10 Jul

So, apart from cushions, my great past-time love in this world is the written word… I can’t get enough of books, and they spill off of every surface in my house. I try to write every now and again, but reading is for me the greatest pleasure. So, as a tribute to this joy, I’m trying to work on a mini-range of cushions and quilts that pay homage to the cement mix holding all those words together… punctuation. I decided to start with some quotation/speech marks because they turned up in my English lessons this week, so it seemed fitting.

I ended up making cushion covers with envelope backs and just using my previous cushions (cheap primark things) inside them. The speech marks are appliqued on in scraps of different patterned fabrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t wait to start work on some other  types of punctuation – I’m thinking an exclamation mark and a question mark and maybe an ellipsis… (I’m fond of those). And I’d like to do another set of speech marks using different patterned fabrics on a pink background. It’s very satisfying to mix up to two of my major passions in life. Have you ever included another of your passions in your crafting life?

A while ago I mentioned popping into Poppy Treffry’s sample sale in Islington. I did do this a weekend ago (it was during this trip that I found my wonderful Sashimi) but alas, I didn’t find anything quite right for my life. I wasn’t technologically minded enough to invest in a phone holder, and I wasn’t domestically minded enough to buy oven gloves. The designs though were lovely, and I’m always so impressed by her free-hand stitched writing.

3 Responses to “do punctuation and cushions mix?”

  1. Alessa July 11, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    Hehe, fun! I’m rather fond of ellipses myself… 😉

  2. Suzanne July 11, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Does this mean that anytime anyone says anything on this sofa, between these cushions, their words are always ironic or quoted from someone else?

Leave a Reply

