the world in miniature

8 Aug

My sister Amal is a genius doll-maker, and I don’t use the word ‘genius’ lightly. Her dolls are beautiful – at the moment her shop is unstocked (the creatures take a long time to make) but if you take a look at her past sales, you’ll see what I mean. They’re resin ball-jointed dolls, about 9″ tall – very different to what you might have in mind when you think of the word ‘doll’.

To celebrate her birthday, I’ve been having a go at making some mini cushions for these dolls. It’s good timing, since Amal’s just bought a range of chairs for her dolls, and no chair is complete without a cushion!

I hope she likes them! They’re stuffed with cotton wool, and machine-sewed, except for the top edge which I’ve sewn with the tiniest stitches I could manage. I would love to make more of these as they are really cute, but I’m going to wait to see whether the dolls are fans or not – or whether they’d like to see some changes made!

6 Responses to “the world in miniature”

  1. Amal August 8, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    :: blush ::
    Yayyyy!! Lovelovelove I speak on behalf of the dolls, haha. We love the small-scale prints and the mix of colours and patterns is gorgeous! Can’t wait to have them! Thank you ❤

    • needlepullingthread August 10, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Good! I will wait until the dolls have them to get the final feedback… this weekend.

  2. Irina August 10, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    HI I love your cute mini cushions! I also really like the idea I saw in one of your old posts to stuff the cushions with fabric leftovers. Very frugal indeed, and a good way to get rid of all those little pieces. You also asked what I was stuffing the letter shaped cushions with – I buy Burda soft toys filling. I couldn’t find it online to send you a link but it is in every craft shop here in Germany. It costs just under 10 euros so it is not the most economical one but it could be washed at 30C.

    • needlepullingthread August 10, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      This is useful – thanks Irina. I’ve been trying to look for some affordable cushion stuffing, but it’s all rather expensive. I love using fabric scraps, but I’ve finally come to the end of my supply!

  3. Irina August 10, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Oh I just remembered, when i was living in the UK I would buy cushions from the £1 shop and use the filling. One cushion = £1 = a lot of filling.

    • needlepullingthread August 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Super idea! I will definitely do this. Now I just need a car to get all the cushions back home in 😀

Leave a Reply

